The Evolution of Castlevania

I wrote in my article on shooters (as compared to action games) that Castlevania: Lords of Shadow was one of the upcoming games that I’m really looking forward to.  The Castlevania franchise has been around as long as I’ve been playing video games and although it’s had its ups and downs, it is one of the stronger, more prominent franchises of all time.  I think part of the reason for its success – as well as the success of any video game franchise – has been its ability to evolve.  From an 8-bit linear action game to an action adventure with role playing elements, Castlevania has evolved quite a bit over the years.  Below, you can check out each step of the Castlevania evolution.  (There are a LOT)

Castlevania (1986)

Castlevania II: Simon’s Quest (1988)

The Castlevania Adventure (1989)

Castlevania III: Dracula’s Curse (1990)

Castlevania II: Belmont’s Revenge (1991)

Super Castlevania IV (1991)

Castlevania: Rondo of Blood (1993)

Castlevania : Bloodlines (1994)

Castlevania: Symphony of the Night (1997)

Castlevania: Legends (1997)

Castlevania (1999)

Castlevania: Legacy of Darkness (1999)

Castlevania: Circle of the Moon (2001)

Castlevania Chronicles (2001)

Castlevania: Harmony of Dissonance (2002)

Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow (2003)

Castlevania: Lament of Innocence (2004)

Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow (2005)

Castlevania: Curse of Darkness (2005)

Castlevania: Portrait of Ruin (2006)

Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia (2008)

Castlevania: Judgment (2008)

Castlevania: Harmony of Despair (2010)

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow (2010)

Similar Posts

One Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.